Me Mondays: My Career Path

Hindsight is 20/20 they say. And as a 32 year old stay-at-home mom, I would tell my 18 year old self to major in something more specific. If I could go back in time I would be a psychologist of some sort but since I’m not 18 it is what it is and I’m happy so that is all that matters. I went to Iowa State University and double majored in Finance and Marketing. I had 2 highly coveted internships with the 3M Research Lab and Union Pacific Railroad which in college and I was considering law school. I graduated, with honors and distinction and took a job offer in Omaha with Union Pacific’s marketing department. I was excited and driven and miserable. The job was a horrible fit for me and not even 2 years in I left to pursue the advertising route. I landed a job as an Account Executive with a small advertising agency and LOVED the job; however, my boss had mental health issues that left the entire office stressed and with anxiety much of the time and I knew what it meant when people said “taking on other peoples problems,” so I left. I went to work for my dad’s company in Omaha that employed approximately 90 people, including my husband. I loved the people and the job and it was a huge success for me for many years. I went part time when Marin was born and due to my husbands increasingly demanding schedule, I decided to stay home full time when Liam was born. It’s bizarre that I’m already “retired” sort of but it is what it is and I truly am happy. I love being available for my kids anytime and I love getting to volunteer to do opportunities at Marin’s school. I still write weekly for the Omaha World Herald’s Momaha section but other than that (and this blog) mom is my job and I couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

